Just For Today

Thinking of doing anything for the rest of my life is so heavy!  This applies to pretty much everything, work, relationships, most importantly to my recovery.  That was the trick my mind would play on me early in this process, I am going to have to do this for the rest of my life.

The great illusion!  Being in recovery does not preclude me from planning.  Having a plan, any kind of plan, ( other than using my drug of choice sort of plan), is a good thing.  Yet, in making a plan, I then need to know how to let go of it.  In the midst of life the plan, or any plan, is likely to change.  I remember making plans and getting so invested in the plans, emotionally, psychologically and physically that either the actual event itself became anticlimactic or if the plan was altered I would be devastated.  There had been such an expectation built up that no matter what, I was always slightly to mostly disappointed.

One of the benefits of learning to live my life, “Just For Today,” is that I have a much better appreciation for the way my life goes most day’s.  Less pining, less whining, less of poor me!  More gratitude, more contentment and definitely more peace!  Living in the present is a great place to be.  This does not mean that I don’t struggle or want, it is that there is a lot less of it.  It’s not a rose coloured glasses attitude!  Having been homeless at one point in my life, I enjoy the fact that I have a roof over my head, I have a place to sleep, I have clothes on my back, I have food in my cupboards and refrigerator, and I have the companionship of other recovering addicts.

Now, I am in the enviable position in my recovery to be able to help other addicts.  I share my experience regularly at meetings, I am sponsoring other addicts who want to know how to stay clean, “Just For Today.” It isn’t a miracle cure, it has been work to get to this point where I can honestly say that I am comfortable in my own skin and in my own company.  Other gifts of my recovery are that I am active in the greater community where I live, as a Community Leader.  Giving freely of my time helping where and when I can!

I do what I can, with what I  have, where I am!

20161221_121338

Tags: , , , , , ,

About jhalladay13

Photographer, Knitter, Mother , Christian, Recovering, Victim, Survivor, Thrive, Activist, Reader, Church Singer,Learning Inuktitut language of Baffin Island Inuit. Community Leader, Activist, Advocate and Disrupter!

Leave a Reply

